top of page

Introduction & why this blog won't be about my children :)


Hong Kong

Every blog must start somewhere : I'll skip the "who am I?" kind of introduction as I already did this in the About page... I had many blogs (in French) over the years, mainly because I've lived abroad for 8 years now, so it was a way to keep in touch with friends & family who were in France and let them see how was life in Japan, Singapore and then Hong Kong. I was also talking about the books I was reading, and movies I liked, but then when I had kids it became more a blog about our life as parent, what was new with them, pictures of my boys growing up... So this blog won't be about them ! I love my sons to pieces of course, and I'll probably talk about them, but it won't be a blog about them. It's a blog I want to write for me, like a little bit of "me time" during my crazy days with them.

As a SAHM I realized that my daily life is always about them : getting up to bring the eldest to school, hurrying to fix them their breakfast and the daily lunch box, staying 3 times a week with my youngest at his playgroup, learning their songs, reading them their favourite books over and over (I love reading to them, but we all know that reading Dear Zoo or The hungry caterpillar 10 times in a day is a bit too much ^^ ), and then going through the "witching hour" when I have to fight for the baths, and make sure dinner is ready on time so they won't go to bed too late (which they still end up doing unfortunately, no matter how hard I try) and then fight again to put them to bed alone if my husband is not back home yet...

I'm sure all moms who are reading this know what I mean : when all you do is taking care of them, you feel like you are loosing yourselves in this, and when the day ends you realize you didn't take much time for you. We all deserve a break, this little time when we can be ourselve, when we can do something for us. And I'm not talking about a night out, a treat at the spa etc...Those are great to relax once in a while, but I learnt to make those little "me time" happen for me everyday now. Because let's be honest, without some time when I can be a woman, and not just a mom I'm going quickly crazy ! I'm talking about those little moments at the end of the day when you can say "ohhh I'll just stop the chores and read my book wih a nice cup of tea" or "I'll just watch a girly movie " (and not another Fireman Sam !)

Now that my youngest is getting older (he turned 2 in december) I'm also trying to do those "me times" when he's here during the day, instead of waiting for them to sleep. It doesn't have to be big (how could it be anyway if he's here ? ^^) but I try to read few pages of my book with my favorite tea, while he's playing in the living room...It doesn't seem like much but it helps me feel like Maeva and not just like their mom. So this blog won't be focused on them. I've done that for my family, but that's not what I want anymore. This blog will be for me and about things that I love ! What do I love by the way ? Well I'll tell more about me with time, but mainly : - I love to read : Jane Austen, Harry Potter, science fiction stories, Roal Dahl, Agatha Christie, historical stories, Anne of green gables, The maze runner, etc...I'll talk more about books that I've read before or plan to read this year.. - I love to cross stitch : for babies, family and for me. And I especially love modern patterns (I found a lot of them on Etsy) especially those made by Wee Little Stitches

My current project : Disney Princess

Older projects that I made

- I love girly shows like Gilmore Girls but also Star Wars, Battlestar Gallactica, Arrow, and I'm obsessed with Doctor Who ! My obsession for Doctor Who is like the Tardis...Bigger on the inside :)

It's funny but thinking of this little space just for me, away from my SAHM daily life makes me feels good already :) So I hope it will be a nice experience. Let's see !

And I'm quite happy to do this in English too ! (again, my apologies for the mistakes that I'll make..)

Who am I ?

I'm Maeva, French mom living in Hong Kong

Recent Posts
bottom of page