top of page

How I started cross stitch & discovered the amazing Wee little stitches

Growing up I didn't learn anything crafty in particular. I didn't take any painting classes, didn't learn to play piano, or how to dance either. I didn't learn but I've always wanted to be the "artsy and crafty" kind. But in the end, it seems that the only "talent" my family thought I had was...reading a lot (I was the only one who enjoyed reading in a family of 5 kids and they seemed to think it was strange that I was always reading) We all have this little something that define us to the people around us, and for me it was books. I was happy with that but have always wanted to be able to do something with my hands too. And then one day when I was 20 I thought "why not try cross stitch ?" It seemed very easy in the craft store, and not expensive for the college student I was. You only need a piece of canvas and some thread. I thought if I didn't like it it won't be a big deal, as it was not expensive.

I started with small patterns to learn (it is indeed very easy !) and did a few things back then. But then I moved to Japan and totally stopped it for a while...until I found out I was pregnant few years later. It was perfect : I had 9 months ahead of me and tons of time as I was not working. We were at this time living in Singapore, and compared to Tokyo it was easier to find some cross stitch supplies there. So I started with some basics baby stuff for my son : bibs and frames for his room.

Snoopy on a bib (that turned orange months later thanks to sweet potato ^^)

M. Daydream

Peter Rabbit

I even started to make gifts for babies being born around us.

Then I tried to find some more modern patterns online and spent a long time searching for fun ideas. I found this Star Wars that I cross stitched on a pouch for my sunglasses

​

(and still use it 6 years later :)

​ And then one day, in 2011 I thought "what about etsy ?" I have never thought of it before and suddenly I discovered tons of fun and modern patterns. The choice was juste crazy !! And among all this choice I found Wee Little Stitches : an Etsy shop ran by a young Canadian couple that was making pixel people inspired by movies, TV shows they love etc... I know that now, in 2015 it's common to see pixel people everywhere on etsy but back then it was new and I was so excited !! I bought my first pattern The big bang theory (sent by mail, no need to wait for it to arrive by post = perfect for someone like me who live abroad) and stitched it on a tote bag. You can see that it was few years ago, as there are only Penny on the pattern : since then they added Bernadette and Amy (for free for those who already purchased the first pattern !) I should really find the time to add them to my bag...

I was quickly addicted and was always waiting for their new pattern to come out ! On top of that Jacqueline is really nice, and I love that she takes some time to exchange emails with customers. That's not always the case on Etsy Being so successfull she actually managed to quit her job and is now doing this full time ! Over the years they added a lot of patterns. There are a lot of those Tv show / movies that I don't know like "it's always sunny in philadelphia" or "The princess bride" (I know it's a classic but have never seen it) but they also have a lot of patterns that I love. Some I have done or I have bought them for friends as a gift, and some are still on my big "to do list". So far I made those Star Wars :

​ a hantowel

​a bookmark for a friend

​and another bookmark for me this time with Obiwan, my favorite SW character

​​

I also made this Futurama one for my brother (the original pattern is bigger but I didn't have time for all the characters)

and this Back to the future tote bag, also for my brother (same here, I didn't do the whole pattern as I didn't have time before christmas)

My current project is their Disney princesses with Belle, Tiana, Anna, Elsa and Rapunzel. I only chose my favorites among the ones that are on the Wee Little Stitches pattern. It should be finished this week, I've been dying to do this one since they released it 2 years ago I think !

​

​

​

They also have some nice quotes like this one :

​ And another great thing they do is design customs patterns for your family or friends. You send them pictures and tell them the details you want and you'll receive the pattern in your mailbox.

I ordered this one and stitched it for some friends as a wedding gift in 2011.

And last year I made this one to celebrate our 7th year wedding anniversary with my husband :) I would like to do one with my kids but want to wait a bit, otherwise my youngest will be too small on it

​

They also have cute kawai patterns like this one

and recently they started the Mini collection, which is just adorable !

Look at those ! I have to make the mini Doctors and the Harry Potter !

Perfect quick stitch that will look great on a bookmark :)

And well, I'll probably end up doing the Sherlock one too !

So if you don't know them yet go and check them out, they are great and very nice !! I'm always excited to see what new ideas they have. I wish I had more time because there are still many of their patterns that I would like to do ! This year I want to turn some of their characters into dolls, I think my sons would love their Batman like this !! This is just perfect !!

Here are some of their patterns that are on my huge to do list :

for my sons

I have to make this PRIDE & PREJUDICE this year !!

and this ​for me too, but I'm still looking for a place to stitch it

​

Their Etsy shop is here :

https://www.etsy.com/hk-en/shop/weelittlestitches

Their blog :

http://weelittlestitchescrossstitch.blogspot.hk/ You can also follow them on facebook and see pictures shared by ones who cross stitched their patterns : https://www.facebook.com/pages/Wee-Little-Stitches-Cross-Stitch

their instagram : http://instagram.com/weelittlestitches/ A little interview of them some years ago : http://blog.followthewhitebunny.com/2012/11/meet-people-behind-pixel-people.html

(Excuse my English, I'm French ^^)

Who am I ?

I'm Maeva, French mom living in Hong Kong

Recent Posts
bottom of page